This is the "Find Articles" page of the "ENGL-1152 : Research Skills" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL-1152 : Research Skills  

Last Updated: May 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.hocking.edu/engl1152 Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Databases

To access databases from off-campus, please click the off-campus login icon next to the database you'd like to use.

The following resources are some good starting points for research. The best choice(s) for you will largely depend on your chosen topic or subject.

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Provides full text for nearly 5,300 scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study. This is a good starting point for research.
  • SIRS Issues Researcher (on-campus only)
    Covers social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Great resource to discover persuasive speech topics and find research on social and controversial issues.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (on-campus access only)
    This resource covers social issues such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration.
  • Points of View Reference Center  Icon
    Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Points of View can be used as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought.
  • Business Source Complete  Icon
    Full text for over 9,500 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
  • Environment Complete  Icon
    Index and abstracts to literature relating to environmental issues. Also contains full-text for over 400 journals.
  • Health Source : Consumer Edition  Icon
    Provides consumer health information on various topics, including general health, nutrition, sports medicine, and childcare.
  • Alt HealthWatch  Icon
    Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
  • CINAHL  Icon
    Index, abstracts and full-text of the literature of nursing and allied health. This is the best choice for Nursing students.
  • SportDiscus  Icon
    Contains over 400 journals related to sports and sports medicine.
  • Vocational & Career Collection  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media. Use this database to find articles on public speaking & giving speeches.
  • MasterFILE Premier  Icon
    This database, covering nearly all subjects, is designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
  • Electronic Journal Center (EJC)  Icon
    Provides access to more than 4,300 scholarly journals and 3 million research articles from 16 different publishers. Good for in-depth research.
  • Newspaper Source  Icon
    Provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.

NY Times

The link below allows full access to the NY Times site.  Hocking College Library is allowed 15 passes (logins) per day.  Free registration is required (you must use your hocking.edu e-mail address).

 

Off-Campus Database Access

To access databases from off-campus, please click the off-campus login icon next to the database you'd like to use.

You will need to know your 7-digit student ID number. If you don't know your number, you can retrieve it by using WebAdvisor.

For more information about databases, including login problems, please visit our Database FAQ.

 

What are databases and why you need them?

Used with permission from Yavapai College Library

 

Academic Search Complete Tutorial

 

Google Scholar Search

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip