Last Updated: Jun 9, 2017
To access databases from off-campus, please click the icon next to the database you'd like to use.
- SIRS Issues Researcher (on-campus only)
Covers social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Great resource for contemporary/controversial issues research.
Covers all areas of sociology, and features full-text content for 332 "core" coverage journals.
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 5,300 scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study. This is a good starting point for research.
- Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
Provides access to more than 4,300 scholarly journals and 3 million research articles from 16 different publishers. Good for in-depth research.
- Gender Studies
Coverage of sexual diversity issues.
- Center for Economic & Social Rights
- Forced Migration Online
Contains resources relating to human displacement.
- Historical overviews of Social Movements
Includes overviews and bibliographies for various topics, including Animal Rights, Civil Rights, Children's Rights, Conservative Movement, Disability Rights, Elder's Rights, Environmental Movement, GLBT Movement, Human Rights, Labor Movement, Peace Movement, Progressive Movement, and Women's Movement.
- Human Rights Campaign
Advocates for equal rights for the LGBT community in the U.S.
- Human Rights Watch
"Links users directly with news, reports and explanatory information from the State Department, USG agencies and other resources, allowing for easy access to publicly available documents."
- Mobilization : an International Journal
"Review of research about social and political movements, strikes, riots, protests, insurgencies, revolutions, and other forms of contentious politics." Access to full-text articles is free, but you must access on campus.
- Office on Violence Against Women
Focuses on domestic violence, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking.
- One : National Gay & Lesbian Archives
"The largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world."
Pros and cons of 43 controversial social issues.
- Same-Sex Marriage : A Selective Bibliography
- Social Issues Affecting Children & Their Families (Merck Manual)
Discusses topics such as illness, divorce, and adoption.
"U.N. information and resources on gender equality and empowerment of women."