Digital Millennium Copyright LawTeach ActCampus Copyright Rights and ResponsibilitesKnow Your CopyrightMotion Picture Licensing MPLCCopyright and Fair Use Guidelines for TeachersCONTU
This is the "Images/Music" page of the "Copyright for Educators" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Copyright for Educators  

Last Updated: May 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.hocking.edu/copyright Print Guide RSS Updates

Images/Music Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Images

There are a variety of websites that allow faculty and student use of images and music for use in their classroom presentations and materials.  This guide lists some of the most commonly known sites.

 

Music

  • Jamendo
    Allows users to download and listen to albums, and also to discover and share new artists. The content is under one of the Creative Commons licenses.
  • Spin Xpress
    SpinXpress is used by independent global media producers to create videos, music compilations, and other collaborative media projects.
  • Freesound
    Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse. Freesound provides new and interesting ways of accessing these samples, allowing users to:

    browse the sounds in new ways using keywords, a "sounds-like" type of browsing and more
    upload and download sounds to and from the database, under the same creative commons license
    interact with fellow sound-artists!

Videos

  • OhioLINK Educational and Instructional Videos
    Contain full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
 

Sheet Music

By law you must purchase individual copies of sheet music to distribute to students. You cannot make a copy so you can keep original safe from damage or being lost.

 

U.S. Copyright Office Circular 56a

Free or Low Cost Images

  • American Memory, Library of Congress
    American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
  • Creative Commons
    Creative Commons helps you share your knowledge and creativity with the world.

    Creative Commons develops, supports, and stewards legal and technical
    infrastructure that maximizes digital creativity, sharing, and
    innovation
  • Flickr
    Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license
  • Free Digital Photos
    FreeDigitalPhotos.net is the best place on the web to download free images for use in corporate and personal projects. Our images can be used by web designers, graphic designers and editors to illustrate and brighten up websites and printed media such as newspapers and magazines. Please see our terms of use for more information on acceptable use of our images.

  • Google Images
    Google cannot give permission to use images found on website. Contact information is provided.
  • Icon Bug
    conBug.com has some of the hottest icons and clip art images online in an easy to search database that is available online 24/7 for free. If you are looking for something special use the search box to the right. Start typing and our engine will generate search suggestion based off our most popular content.

  • Image After
    Image After is a large online free photo collection. You can download and use any image or texture from our site and use it in your own work, either personal or commercial.

  • IstockPhoto
    This is a member-generated image and design community. Get easy, affordable inspiration with millions of safe, royalty-free photographs, vector illustrations, video footage, audio tracks and Flash files.

  • Morgue File
    Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not. It's also easy to add your own photos to the morgueFile. So, give back because this archive is for creatives by creatives.

  • Open Clip Art
    The largest online repository for high quality public domain vector graphics on the Internet. Free vector images.
  • photos.com
    Choose from 2.6 million royalty-free stock photos and illustrations with releases—available as single images, image packs or subscriptions, so you can save based on your project needs
  • pics4learning

    Pics4Learning is a safe, free image library for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and images for classrooms, multimedia projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other project in an educational setting.

    The thousands of photos in this collection are approved for use in the classroom and indexed and sorted in order to maximize their effective use by students in a 21st century classroom. While the photographers retain the rights to these photos, they have graciously allowed their use through this collection.

  • Spin Xxpress
    SpinXpress is used by independent global media producers to create videos, music compilations, and other collaborative media projects.
  • Stock.xchng
    Whether you just want to browse their huge image gallery or want to share your own photos with others, this is the site for you! Browse through the categories of our huge gallery containing over 350.000 quality stock photos by more than 30.000 photographers. Share your photos with fellow designers! SXC is a friendly community of photography addicts who generously offer their works to those who need them free of charge.
    Free or Low Cost Images Page ToolsInsert linksInsert links to other pages or uploaded files.
    Pages Images and files Insert a link to a new pageLoading...No images or files uploaded yet.Insert image from URLTip: To turn text into a link, highlight the text, then click on a page or file from the list above.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip