Last Updated: May 23, 2017
- Awesome Library: Preschool
Links to resources in areas such as lesson plans, papers/research, and project ideas.
- Beyond the Journal
Offers additional and supplemental information to the Young Children Journal published by the NAEYC.
- Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
"A collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics."
- Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
"Promotes high quality research in child care and early education."
- Clearinghouse on Early Education and Parenting
Provides "print and online resources for the worldwide early childhood and parenting communities."
- Discovery Education Classroom Resources
Features include Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators, as well as lesson plans and a puzzlemaker application.
- Early Childhood Center (Education World)
- Early Childhood Research & Practice
"A peer-reviewed multilingual journal on the development, care, and education of young children."
- Education Theory Handbook
Features teachers' resources and various learning aids for students.
- Future of Children
Publishes two journals and policy briefs each year. Topics range widely from income policy to family issues to education and health with children's policy as the unifying element.
- Kathy Schrock's Guide to Everything
"A categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning."
- National Center for Early Development and Learning
"Focuses on enhancing the cognitive, social, and emotional development of children from birth through age eight."
- National Clearinghouse for Paraeducator Resources
This site includes links to full-text resources, abstracts from ERIC, and a discussion forum. From the Center for Multilingual, Multicultural Research at the University of Southern California.
- Ohio Department of Education
Includes links to information on proficiency testing, teacher certification, and standards guides that describe what students should know at the end of each grade level.
- Paraeducator Resource & Learning Center
Includes six interactive learning units on topics such as teamwork, inclusive education, cultural sensitivity, and students with disabilities.
- PBS Teachers
Includes classroom resources, message boards, and interactive activities.
- Resources from the Creative Curriculum for Preschool
"Helps you encourage families to be actively involved in their children's learning and development. Each interest area chapter ends with a letter to families about ways to support children's learning at school and at home."
- School Express
Offers a variety of resources, including free worksheets.
- Sesame Street Homepage
Check out the parents section for a collection of articles related to child development and education.
- Tufts University Child and Family Web Guide
"A directory that evaluates, describes, and provides links to hundreds of sites containing child development research and practical advice."
- What Works Clearinghouse : Early Childhood Education